Skip to main content

Your Council

About Council

The Westland District Council was formed in 1989 from the amalgamation of Westland County Council and Hokitika Borough Council.  It is a territorial local authority governed by the Local Government Act 2002.

Council members

The Council is made up of eight councillors, representing three wards, the Mayor and a representative from Rūnanga o Ngati Waewae and Rūnanga o Maakawhio. Read more here.


Council departments

Here are the various departments within Westland District Council and their contact details.

Staff in the Office of the Chief Executive are responsible for supporting the governance of the Council. This includes support for Council and Committee meetings and workshops, administration for the Chief Executive, human resources and Local Government and Official Information and Meetings Act and Privacy Act responses.

Chief Executive: Simon Bastion
Telephone: 03 756 9010

The corporate services staff are the back-bone of the organisation.

Staff in the Corporate Services team ensure that Council has sound financial and legal practices (including statutory reporting and public engagement), staff and the public receive quality advice, there are efficient and current IT systems and Information Management practices and our customers have a good experience in our Customer Service centre. Council's communications also sit within this group.

Group Manager Corporate Services: Lesley Crichton
Telephone: 03 756 9010

The District Assets group is responsible for overseeing the operation, maintenance and improvement of the Council's infrastructural assets.

These include roading, three water services, recreational assets, cemeteries, buildings and solid waste disposal. The group is also responsible for the development of Asset Management / Activity Management Plans and long-term infrastructure strategies.
Group Manager District Assets: Scott Baxendale
Telephone: 03 756 9010

The Planning team is responsible for meeting the District’s Resource Management obligations.

These include reviewing and utilising the District plan, processing land use resource consent applications and subdivisions, undertaking compliance and monitoring, creating planning policy, submitting on government policy on behalf of Westland and engaging with Central Government through representation in Stakeholder and Working Groups.

Planning staff undertake ongoing engagement with our communities and community groups.

Planning Manager: Olivia Anderson
Telephone: 03 756 9010

Regulatory and Community Services is responsible for overseeing the management and delivery of the regulatory functions of Council. This includes Building Control, Animal Control, Environmental Health, Liquor Licencing, Compliance, and associated Bylaws.

The group also includes the Library and Museum staff, and the Community Development Advisor.

Group Manager Regulatory, Planning and Community Services: Te Aroha Cook
Telephone: 03 756 9010

What we do

Council provides services to the community. Listed below are the services managed by Council. 

Westland District Library, community libraries, Carnegie Gallery, and Pakiwaitara.

Children’s playgrounds, parks, swimming pools, sports grounds, skate park, statues and monuments, public toilets, and cemeteries.

Wastewater treatment plants, reservoirs, water treatment plants, pipes, reticulation, pumping stations, service connections, fire hydrants, manholes, and campervan effluent disposal sites.

Resource Management Act compliance and input into the Te Tai Poutini Combined District Plan.

Roads, footpaths, bridges, culverts, traffic signs and markings, underpasses, and streetlights.

Council headquarters and other property management, community centres and halls, Jackson Bay Wharf, and pensioner housing.

Kerbside rubbish and recycling collection, township litter bins, landfills, transfer stations, and responsible camping waste stations.

Building consents and inspections, dog and stock control, noise control, alcohol and food act licencing, Health Act licencing, and other licencing, community grants and support.

Customer services, finance, human resources, communications, policy advice, administration, IT, Information Management, democratic services, and Councillors.